The Art of Living

Thich Nhat Hanh

Nonfiction 2017 | 206 pages


Concepts and teachings keep repeating themselves.  Perhaps that is the only way for us to truly remember.  I read in The Art of Living some teachings I have read and heard before ... the eight bodies (the human body, the Buddha body, the spiritual practice body, the body outside the body, the continuation body, the cosmic body, and the ultimate body) and the seven concentrations (emptiness, sign-lessness, aimlessness, impermanence, non-craving, letting go, and nirvana). I note that I am a different person today than when I read about all of these a few months ago. They speak to me on a different level, offer different meanings today, support me in a meaningful way today.

You may experience something similar.  It is a spiritual practice to reread Thich Nhat Hahn.  I recommend this short book.

August 2023

2 responses on “The Art of Living

  1. Beverly Kropp

    I love reading so many of Thich Nhat Hanh”s works. He writes with calmness and wisdom. I glean something anew with each reading. I’m currently re-reading “Love Letter to the Earth “. My meditation group read/studied his work on The Heart Sutra and it took us a year and a half!